Mushroom Soup

Mushroom soupOnce we went out for dinner in local restaurant and I ordered mushroom soup for starter. It was so tasty that I started wondering how to make it.  Yesterday I had some fresh leftover of mushroom and I had no idea what to do with it. I wanted to store it in the freezer but it was already full :-/ Then I remembered about the mushroom soup. A friend gave me a link how to make it. But I wanted to get second opinion 🙂 So I started googling the recipe from local website using keyword ‘gobova juha’ which means ‘mushroom soup’.  There are many but I found 1 that might be similar with the one that I ate at the restaurant and I combined with the link from my friend, plus a bit of my modification with spices. And I DID!! I created a same taste of  soup.
Here’s how …. it’s very simple!
Ingredients
400 g mixed edible mushroom (you can use dried one as well) – I used shiintake, oyster and champignon mushroom (button mushroom) – chopped
1 small ready tomato, cut into small pieces
1 carrot, shredded
1 medium onion/red onion, chopped
1 garlic, chopped
pepper to taste
1 stalk petersilie leaf, chopped
1 stalk of medium leek, chopped
Mixed spices (thyme, summer savory, Rosemary) – you can also just use thyme and rosemary
1 Tablespoon Sour cream
1 Tablespoon Sweet cooking cream (or smetana https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smetana_%28cream%29)
700 litre Chicken brooth
1 block of chicken bouillion (or salt if you prefer)
3 Tablespoons Olive oil
50 g Butter
1 Tablespoon of flour mixed with a bit of water
Directions
1. Using the butter saute the onion and garlic until fragrant then add the carrot, tomato, mushroom and leek. Stir fry few minutes then add the brooth, chicken bouillon, pepper and mixed spices. Boil the soup until all the vegetables are cooked, about 20-25 minutes.
2. Then add creams, flour, and olive oil. Cook for another couple of minutes.
3. Garnish with patersilie and serve with bread.
mushroom soup_Hb

This is a picture of mushroom soup from the local restaurant … look similar, isn’t it? 🙂
Leave a Reply

